Covered Greenhouse Garden


Covered Greenhouse Garden

While we’re waiting for our fence to suntan before we stain it, I took on another outdoor project this weekend.

 

Yep, it’s Garden 2013! And there’s a reason for the Oregon Trail look, I promise. Since we’ve moved here, we’ve had some windy nights and some CRAZY 30 mph windy nights. On top of that, the neighbors all comment on the foggy summers. So to help my future tomatoes out, I decided to build them a little green house to protect them from the wind and to elevate the temperature during the colder days. This should also help me with the “year round” gardening Bay Area people seem so keen on.

I started out with 2x12s at 8 feet and 4 feet. (I do not recommend 2x12s as they are very expensive, and you can get the same results with stacked 2x6s.) We leveled out the dirt a bit before assembling them.

I used the pocket hole system once again to join the pieces of wood. Then, because we have some resident moles in the yard (ew), we stapled some chicken wire to the base and flipped the whole thing over.

Then we built a frame to go on top out of 2x2s and 2x4s for corner braces. This will be the base for the covered part.

 

Then we attached 1/2″ 10-foot PVC pipe to create the arches.

I put one screw into the inside bottom of each pipe (to keep it from slipping), then secured it with a pipe clamp.

 

Now I’m still not sure if this next step was necessary; I bought some wire mesh and used a LOT of electrical tape to secure it to the pipes, which was very time consuming. My reasoning was to provide more stability for the frame as well as the plastic sheeting, but I’m thinking some 1x2s screwed into the PVC would’ve worked just as well.

 

 

I stapled some 3.5 mil plastic to the 2×2 frame, which I do not recommend attempting while it is breezy outside. Plastic everywhere, suffocation, etc.

I attached two hinges on one of the short 4′ sides.

And some plastic chain on the long 8′ side. (I do not recommend plastic chain, as it bends and stretches far too easily. I bought it because I thought it would be easier to work, rust-free, and lightweight, which it is….but the stretching is no bueno.)

 

 

I’m planning on rigging up an automatic watering system for my soaker hose, so I installed this adapter in the side. The garden hose will go on the blue side and the soaker hose will come out the other side.

On the last Saturday of every month, Berkeley puts out a bunch of free compost near the Berkeley Marina. We went and shoveled some into some boxes and mixed it with existing soil from the yard and a healthy amount of pine needles.

Now it’s time for planting! I’m still working on the layout, but I’ve got my tomatoes planted and safe from the cold and wind. I’m planning on a bunch of basil, squash, swish chard, onions, garlic, and some herbs. But mostly it’s gonna be tomatoes and basil. Nothing beats homemade pasta sauce with home-grown veggies! MMmMMmmm I can’t wait.

 

SwingNCocoa: Covered Greenhouse Garden.

About EverEvolvingSoul

* I am always growing and changing... * Always searching for knowledge... * With every lesson I acquire, I realize knowledge is freedom... * The more you learn about other cultures, other beliefs... * The less you judge and distrust... * Then as you accept the freedom of acceptance... * One encounters LOVE and APPRECIATION for every soul one encounters on their life journey.

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Organic Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Self Publish Book

Self Publish Book | Book Publishers | Book Editing Services

Homeworks With Anna

arts, virtual assistance & beyond freedom

Things Career Related

A Practical Look at the Job Search

Lacombe Lifelong Learning Association

The Don't Hibernate People!

Sigil Ebook

Sigil is a multi-platform EPUB ebook Editor

Lakshmi ♥ Star Seed - Lightarian (TM) Rays Master-Practitioner - Reiki Kundalini Master-teacher - Spiritual Channeller - Lightworker

Channelled Readings by email | Akashic Records Healing & Attunements Master-Teacher | Master Activator Golden Star Christ Activation | Activator for Eternal Cosmic Christ Empowerment (a powerful self-healing Energy System) | Clearing of Negative Energies | Crystal Healer | Diamond Reiki Healer

The Story Behind the Book

Authors reveal the stories behind their books

The Druid's Garden

Spiritual Journeys in Tending the Land, Permaculture, Wildcrafting, and Regenerative Living

Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Celebrating Life, Spirituality, Creativity and Kindness!

Chris Martin Writes

The Painting of our Soul is a Unique & Individual Experience...

The Spiritual Energies of 2017

The Year of Light (& dark)!

cosmicnu

A Divine Cosmic River to Elevate and Embark you on Spiritual Journey

After Narcissistic Abuse

There is Light, Life & Love

sloppybuddhist

hedy bach photography mixed stories and music

free reiki attunements and manuals

hints for practising reiki

Morsels Minus

Subtracting ingredients doesn't mean living without the meals and treats you love

Kindred Words

A Collective of Poetic Beasts.

Positive Outlooks Blog

A sanctuary to promote positive thinking, offer inspiration and spiritual growth.

Drawing of the Week

This is drawing of the Week! Posting the best drawings on the web! Drawings are not made by me!

